top of page

Contextual Report


I've been invested in the music scene for as long as I can remember, being grown up with a parent who was going to concerts by himself when I was just 1, I didn't have much of a choice... At the end of the day, I couldn't complain. An interest in rap music started when my dad showed me run DMC, I remember id always get home from when I was in the early years of high school and sneak onto my Facebook account, id play these silly games like FarmVille and Moshi Monsters whilst always jamming ‘It's tricky’ or ‘walk this way.





I always want to buy myself the Adidas superstars which were made famous by the likes of Joseph "Run" Simmons Darryl "D.M.C." McDaniels Jason "Jam Master Jay" Mizel (RUN DMC members). Continuing into my high school life I'd start branching out of rap music towards techno and more of a hardstyle bass, this changed my perspective on music where it used to be focused on how lyrics could pursue you into a different lifestyle perspective. When I started going to these dance festivals the bass and harmonies these songs were showcasing changed my opinion to enjoy every single aspect of the music industry as they all are respected by me in various ways.


When I first heard of this assignment being such a broad topic, I knew it was going to be music orientated. I wanted to show what I've been brought up music-wise and create an understanding to my audience of what I grew up listening to along with my views on some rap-related issues. To commence this assignment, I thought to myself of making a Twitter page, which provided efficient and frequent updates to music lovers into what's going on through covid and how these artists are surviving after it blows over.


The name for this Twitter page was called De Graaff St sound. Degraff street was the street I moved into when we found our first home at the age of one. This is where everything started for me in terms of music, listening, evaluating it all trying to follow my dad's musical footsteps.


Before starting this class, I heard everything about Twitter as a platform, but I never got myself into making an account. From a helping hand of bcm114, I knew this platform would be perfect for my De Graaff street sound’ page, well this is what I thought. I soon came face to face with the struggle of constantly posting. As much as I love reading and finding new information about artists, I couldn't bring myself together to post these frequent updates to my audience. After many attempts to gain viewers, it just wasn't working. My most liked tweet was a whopping total of…… wait for it ….2 likes!






Therefore, I needed a change.


The reason for my change in digital artifact idea was solely based on my personal commitment, I found straight away that posting on Twitter wasn't for me and couldn't withhold my attention. Throughout my first semester, I've thoroughly enjoyed creating blog posts, and due to this topic of the broadness of the assessments, this was my new way to go.


The main influence in the change of blog posts happened when I was driving to work one day and Dave “Black Live at the Brits’ came onto my phone. This song was performed at the Brits award ceremony where Dave lashes out towards the government and the intergenerational history of black injustices. I wanted to discuss how I believe there is a misrepresentation through rap music displayed in today's society. These blog posts help me analyse and create pathways for these injustices to form a greater understanding of the topic of misrepresentation.


I wanted to continue my idea of my home voice, so I decided to change the name of my website title to ‘De Graaff St Sound’. Most of my other assignments continually relate to the music and rap injustices, which creates a better platform of various topics on music. Initially discussing the Metropolitan police force versus the UK Drill artists, along with ‘Who wants war with Sydney's realist?’ Both blog posts evaluate trouble between the police and the groups as artists.


Overall, I believe the change in my digital artifact was extremely beneficial for what I wanted to submit within this assignment. I received comments on my recent blog posts agreeing with the idea of a change which pushed me to produce a greater quality in work.



I always stand with the topic of injustices through rap/hip hop as I always had opportunities to produce music, create songs without having problematic societal issues surrounding me. At the end of the day, I envy what some of these artists dug themselves out of and I will never stop listening to their music.

References - Throughout Digital Artifact


Cundiff, G., 2012. The Influence of Rap/Hip-Hop Music: A Mixed-Method Analysis on Audience Perceptions of Misogynistic Lyrics and the Issue of Domestic Violence. [online] Elon.edu. Available at: <https://www.elon.edu/u/academics/communications/journal/wp-content/uploads/sites/153/2017/06/02CundiffEJSpring13.pdf> [Accessed 30 October 2021].


Cundiff, G., 2013. The Influence of Rap and Hip-Hop Music: An Analysis on Audience Perceptions of Misogynistic Lyrics. [online] Inquiries Journal. Available at: <http://www.inquiriesjournal.com/articles/792/the-influence-of-rap-and-hip-hop-music-an-analysis-on-audience-perceptions-of-misogynistic-lyrics> [Accessed 30 October 2021].


FIELDSTADT, E., 2020. The most dangerous cities in America, ranked. [online] Cbsnews.com. Available at: <https://www.cbsnews.com/pictures/the-most-dangerous-cities-in-america/> [Accessed 30 October 2021].


Gross, S., 2021. RACE AND WRONGFUL CONVICTIONS IN THE UNITED STATES. [online] Law.umich.edu. Available at: <http://www.law.umich.edu/special/exoneration/Documents/Race_and_Wrongful_Convictions.pdf> [Accessed 30 October 2021].


P. Bonczar, T., 1997. Lifetime Likelihood of Going to State or Federal Prison. [online] Bjs.ojp.gov. Available at: <https://bjs.ojp.gov/content/pub/pdf/Llgsfp.pdf> [Accessed 30 October 2021].


Sloboba, J., 2010. Music in everyday life: The role of emotions. [online] https://www.researchgate.net/. Available at: <https://www.researchgate.net/publication/284331015_Music_in_everyday_life_The_role_of_emotions> [Accessed 30 October 2021].


Travis, R., 2012. Rap Music and the Empowerment of Today’s Youth: Evidence in Everyday Music Listening, Music Therapy, and Commercial Rap Music. [online] https://www.researchgate.net/. Available at: <https://www.researchgate.net/publication/257544331_Rap_Music_and_the_Empowerment_of_Today's_Youth_Evidence_in_Everyday_Music_Listening_Music_Therapy_and_Commercial_Rap_Music> [Accessed 30 October 2021].


Drop Me a Line, Let Me Know What You Think

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by Train of Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page