top of page

DEGRAAFFST SOUNDS




De Graff Street Sounds – What’s new in Australian Music

De Graaff Street Sounds are inspired by music journalist-based media outlets such as WhatsLively, Splendour in the Grass, and GRM Daily. These platforms will provide content inspiration for my Twitter page, and also highlight evaluation benchmarks.


My forever-growing love for music has left me inspired to use this platform to develop a deeper understanding of what it takes to create a successful social media page and share live music insights with a like-minded community.

The name De Graaff Street Sounds were influenced by my home street in Canberra, as I will be publishing content from local bands and undercover artists. I believe the name matches the local-focused theme of my digital artifact perfectly.


Another key reason behind my ambition to publicize the Australian music scene was when looking into research I found that the Australian music industry value has had a decline of 39% due to COVID-19, losing overall 90% of revenue in the past year (The MusicNetwork 2020).

This drastic loss of revenue comes at the forced suspension of the national touring market. Despite this, the digital market has seen a growth of 8.3% (TheMusicNetwork 2020) from streaming platforms such as Spotify, Apple Music, as many turn to streaming services during lockdown periods.

Although such growth is being demonstrated digitally, I want to discover how artists are personally being affected, the impact on music production, and how effectively the industry is able to adapt to the current climate.


Pitch Video


Comments


bottom of page